Board of Directors


The Ethics Institute is governed by a board of directors, consisting of prominent persons committed to promoting ethical responsibility.

They serve on a pro bono basis and are compensated only for direct expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. The board provides strategic direction to TEI and fulfils an oversight function with regard to resources, staff and activities.The board is also responsible for ensuring that TEI complies with all laws and regulations applicable to non-profit organisations in South Africa.


Mr Mohamed Adam

Independent Non-Executive Chairman, Human Resources Committee Chairman

Mr Colin Beggs

Independent Non-Executive Director, Human Resources Committee member

Ms Imogen Mkhize

Independent Non-Executive Director

Prof Piet Naude

Independent Non-Executive Director

Prof Deon Rossouw

Chief Executive Officer, Human Resources Committee member

Prof Leon van Vuuren

Executive Director